Board of Directors

The American School for the Deaf has a dedicated Board of Directors from a diverse cross section of community and corporate leaders and members of the deaf community. These volunteers are all connected to the School and the Greater Hartford community. The Board is comprised of people who care deeply about the School and its future. The ASD Board of Directors meet as a whole four times a year and board committees meet with the Administration on a regular basis. The Board oversees the School and is involved in helping to set and monitor the strategic direction of the School. The Board is also involved in ongoing financial decisions, building projects and fundraising.

List of 26 items.

  • Catherine M. Burns

    Catherine M. Burns

    Chair of Executive Committee
  • Jonathan N. Rubin

    Jonathan N. Rubin

    First Vice President,
    Chair of Compensation Committee
    Magellan Health Services
  • Barbara J. Cassin

    Barbara J. Cassin

    Second Vice President
  • Frank W. Barrett

    Chair of Investment-Finance Committee

  • Sarah E. Schlegel

    Sarah E. Schlegel

    Connecticut Children’s Medical Center
  • Peter J. Adamowicz

    Peter J. Adamowicz

    Chair of Buildings & Grounds Committee
    Gilbane Building Company
  • John E. Ahearn

    John E. Ahearn

    Chair of Audit Committee
  • Cristi L. Alberino

    Cristi L. Alberino

    Chair of Education Committee
    State Department of Education
  • Christine G. Bogino

    Christine G. Bogino

    Chair of Historic Preservation Ad Hoc Committee
    Community Volunteer
  • Grant C. Bogle

  • Brian Clemow

    Brian Clemow

    Chair of the Governance Committee
    Shipman & Goodwin
  • Dennis R. Ferguson

    Dennis R. Ferguson

    Ferguson Law Offices, LLC
  • Christopher G. Gent

    Christopher G. Gent

    Gent Financial Group, LLC
  • Lisa Hamlin

    Lisa Hamlin

    Lori Hamlin, Inc.
  • Paul B. Hebert

    Advantage Care Physicians
  • Christopher A.N. Kurz

    Christopher A.N. Kurz

    National Technical Institute for the Deaf
  • Governor Ned Lamont

    Governor Ned Lamont

    Ex Officio
    State of Connecticut
  • Cindy Liu

  • Jeffrey Y. Mansfield

    MASS Design Group
  • Sandra McLennon

    Sandra McLennon

    Ex Officio
    President, ASD Alumni Association
  • Edgar Palmer

  • Damen Polance

    Damen Polance

    Harte Nissan
  • John A. Serrano

    John A. Serrano

    Atlanta Area School for the Deaf
  • Nelson Simons

    Nelson Simons

    TD Bank
  • George M. Sugai

  • Elisa M. Velez

    ASD Alumna